Legendary Jockeys

Some of the best known Jockeys that have ridden our horses in the past include:

Frankie Dettori

  • Winner of 14 British & 20 European Classics.
  • Rode all 7 winners at Ascot in 1996.
  • 3-time Champion Jockey.
  • Rider of over 3000 winners.

Walter Swinburn

  • Winner of 8 British Classics.
  • Winner of 3 Epsom Derby’s.
  • Rider of Shergar.

Philip Robinson

  • 2-time Champion Jockey in Hong Kong.
  • 2-time winner of both the British and Irish 1000 Guineas. 

Pat Eddery

  • 11-time Champion Jockey.
  • Now a trainer.

Adrian Maguire

  • Won Over 1000 UK Jumps Races.
  • Now a trainer.


Graham Bradley

  • Rider of Wayward Lad.
  • Winner of Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Kerrin Mcevoy

  • Top class Australian Jockey.
  • Winner of the Melbourne Cup.
  • Rider for Godolphin.

Alex Hammond

  • Lady Amateur. 
  • Now a Sky Sports Presenter.

Ray Cochrane

  • The winning jockey in 3 of the 5 British Classic Races.
  • Received the Flat Jockey Special Recognition Lester Award in 2000.

Kevin Darley

  • Champion Jockey in 2000.
  • Flat Jockey Special Recognition Award in 1997 and 2007.

 George Duffield

  • Awarded the MBE in 2003 for his services to British Horse Racing.
  • Rider of 2500+ winners (No. 10 all-time in Britain).

Jason Weaver

  • Rode over 1000 winners in a 14 year career.
  • Now a TV presenter.

Russ Garrity

  • Rider of Explosive Speed.

John Carroll

  • Top Northern Jockey.

Peter Niven

  • Rode 1000+ winners over jumps.
  • Now a trainer.

Chris Grant

  • 3-time second in the Grand National.
  • Now a trainer.

 Alex Greaves

  • 5-time Lady Jockey of the Year winner.

Micky Hammond

  • Leading Northern Jockey.
  • Now a successful trainer.

Leave a Reply